Series #1: The Darkrock

Deep down, the thing we want the very most in life just might be what ultimately destroys us.

Six teens from Almward High School have been invited to the Hayback woods with the promise of fulfilling their deepest desires by merely touching the mysterious Darkrock. A self-proclaimed mastermind watches from the shadows, giving the young teens exactly what they think they want.

Who are these teens?

Mandy, the Lustful Vixen.

Serena, the Envious Wallflower.

Tina, the Gluttonous Raver.

Dan, the Wrathful Pushover.

Matt, the Greedy Jock.

Jordon, the Slothful Dreamer.

And the mastermind watching it all unfold as he tries to fix everything?

Balthron, the Prideful Puppet Master.

Not knowing whether the invitation is a blessing or a curse, the teenagers decide to test the waters and find out just what their own desires may be. Little do they know, they’re about to get a lot more than they bargained for.

Read below for the author’s take on the series!

My original concept for this series was diving into the seven deadly sins, but in a more modern setting. In this way, each of the students, as well as the person behind the weird happenings, realizes how their desires are a double-edged sword. Getting something you desire deeply doesn’t always equal a happy ending.

Each part is focused on only one participate. Though the characters cross paths with each other several times, the reader only gets a fraction of the whole picture through each short story. By reading all of them together, the reader will understand everything.

It was the first series written for my one year challenge, and really helped me understand my limits. It also set the pace for upcoming series and made me realize how important it is to have detailed, yet flexible outlines.

Have you read The Darkrock yet? What did you think about the intertwined storylines? Let us know in the comments below! Let’s get a discussion going, yeah?

Happy reading, writing, working, and living!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.